Amanda’s College Blog

A day in the life of a college student…

Lighting of Red Square December 3, 2008

Filed under: College Life — davisal @ 7:57 pm

Red Square- Christmas
Tonight was the traditional lighting of Red Square here at school. They put up a tree (as you see above) and a garland across the front of Eastvold. There’s also a cross closer toward the UC and, over Harstad, there’s a “star of Bethlehem.” They had a lovely little service with the singing of Christmas carols and a little sermon and then they turned on all the lights. Now, when I saw the star over Harstad I turned to Sarah and commented on the irony of an all-girls’ dorm being the place where you will find Jesus (who is, as we know, a boy). 😛

I feel like I’ve had a pretty productive day today… I didn’t have IHON because we had a field trip which I decided not to take, since it would mean that I would miss my French class (which I have to miss on Friday due to the choir concert). So, instead of going to class, I went to the library and got a bunch of work done for my other classes. I’ve also been trying to work out how I’m going to fit in my classes for the next four years and see how many minors I’ll be able to fit in. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Lighting of Red Square”

  1. davis85 Says:

    Pretty! And you have a perfect view from your dorm room! 😀

    Hey! We’re having puppies in February! Check out the Puppies page!

  2. Larry Says:

    I like the lights…very nice. Christmas decor every night.


Leave a comment